1. How can I contact the Board?
- Address: P.O. Box 55707, Jackson, MS 39296-5707
Phone Number: (601) 352-2918
Facsimile Number: (601) 325-2920
Web Address: www.msbpt.ms.gov
E-mail Address: firstname.lastname@example.org
2. How often does the Board meet?
- The Board meets quarterly in the office of the Mississippi State Board of Physical Therapy in Jackson, MS. Refer to meetings on this website.
3. How do I have my Mississippi license verified to another state?
- For a written verification of license to be sent to another state you must submit a request in writing to the Mississippi State Board of Physical Therapy along with the $35.00 verification processing fee. Your written request should include your name, your license number, and the name and address of the state board to which the verification should be sent. Normal processing time is within 1 to 2 days.
4. How do I get a duplicate licensure certificate and/or identification card?
- Please submit to the Board in writing requesting either a duplicate certificate or identification card. Include your name, address, license number and a $35.00 duplicate certificate fee or $25.00 identification card fee made out to MSBPT.
5. How do I request a licensure list of physical therapist/physical therapist assistants?
6. How do I change my name or address with the Board?
- You must provide written notification to the Board for name and address changes. An address/name change form can be downloaded from this website under forms. A name change must be accompanied with a copy of the legal document (ex: marriage certificate or divorce decree). A request for a new license must be included along with the written request for the name change.
7. What shall I do if I believe someone is violating the Physical Therapy Practice Act?
- It is your legal and ethical responsibility to report any suspected violation of the law to the Board. Refer to filing a complaint on this website.
8. How do I obtain an application packet?
9. Once I apply for a license, how long does it take to get a license?
- Following receipt of all required documents listed in the application packet, the average processing time is 1 to 2 days.
10. What is the passing score for the licensure exam?
- The passing score on the national licensing examination is the criterion referenced score of 600.
11. How many times can a candidate sit for the exam?
- Upon payment of the appropriate fees and documents, (see application packet) applicants who do not pass the examination after the first (1)attempt may re-take the examination two (2) more times after submitting the appropriate form and fee. Any applicant for licensure who has failed the examination two (2) times, after the effective date, must complete a Board approved plan of additional educational training prior to sitting for the exam again. The additional training requirement is applicable regardless of whether the examination was taken in Mississippi or other jurisdictions. Once the additional educational training has been approved and completed the applicant may submit the required documents and fees in order to sit for the exam again. An application shall be deemed abandoned by the Board and the applicants will have to reapply if after six (6) months from the date of filing, the requirements for licensing have not been completed and submitted to the Board. An applicant who has taken the exam more than five (5) times in any jurisdiction and who is not licensed, after the effective date, is not eligible to sit for the examination in Mississippi.
12. What methods are accepted for payment of fees?
- The Board accepts payments by personal check, cashiers check or money order. Please make payments payable to the Mississippi State Board of Physical Therapy (MSBPT). The Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy, examination owner, receives direct payment from candidates. They accept cashiers checks, money orders or credit cards. Refer to links on this website.
13. How many continuing education hours are required for licensure renewal?
- 30 continuing competence units (CCUs) to be accrued during each 2 year licensing period (July 1- June 30). No carryover of continuing competence units from one licensure period to another shall be allowed. At least 25 percent (7.5 CCU) of the required continuing competence units earned during each licensure period must be directly related to the clinical practice of physical therapy. Continuing Competence (CC) activities claimed as clinical are subject to review if considered questionable. All licensees must take three (3) hours of board-approved hours of study in ethics, professionalism, or jurisprudence per licensing period as part of their total CC requirements. At least 15 of the 30 required continuing competence units must be from Certified Activities outlined in Rule 5.4. Please refer to Part 3103, Chapter 5 Rule 5.2 of the Regulations or continuing competence on this website.
14. What are the renewal fees?
- $150.00 for physical therapist and $125.00 for physical therapist assistants. Licensees who do not renew their license postmarked on or before September 30 shall result in the necessity of the payment of a reinstatement fee in addition to the late fee and renewal fee. Refer to fees on this website
15. What do I do with my licensure certificate and identification card once received?
- The licensee shall prominently display the “Certificate of Licensure” or copy thereof at their place(s) of employment. The licensee shall carry the “Licensure Identification Card” with them at all times and show the ID card when requested.
16. Is kinesio taping useful in physical therapy?
- What is kinesio taping?
Kinesio taping is a procedure by which tape is applied to the skin. This tape is far more flexible than traditional tape that you would associate with the use in athletics. Kinesio tape has properties that allow for muscle spindle activation as well as compression and swelling and edema control.
Kinesio tape is applied as a rehabilitation tape to facilitate the natural healing process of the body by providing support without restricting movement. It is the elastic properties of the tape that are said to activate muscle spindle, massage muscles and provide compression activity to help control edema and swelling.
Who can apply kinesio tape?
Both licensed physical therapists and licensed physical therapist assistants under the supervision and direction of a physical therapist can apply kinesio tape.
What are the indications for applying kinesio tape?
Generally, muscle and joint strains and sprains, joint instabilities, swelling and edema control. It can also assist in muscle activation.
How long can kinesio tape remain on the skin after application?
Generally, kinesio tape can remain on the skin up to 48 hours depending on skin type and tolerance.
What is the difference between traditional athletic tape and bracing when compared to kinesio tape?
Traditional athletic tape and bracing are used to provide external support and stability through motion restriction. In this application the tape or brace are the primary form of stabilization to the joint.
Kinesio tape is applied to provide external activation of surrounding muscles, tendons and ligaments to increase their activation leading to more stability. In this application the muscles, tendons and ligaments are the primary stabilizers and the tape assists.
17. Can physical therapists use diagnostic images?
- Q. Is it appropriate for physical therapists to use images to assist (radiographs, CT scans, MRI) in the management of patients?
A. The use of diagnostic images is now being taught in many physical therapy programs to aid in the understanding of the physical injury or abnormality. It is appropriate for the therapist to refer to these images, if available, to assist in managing patients. It is considered out of scope for a therapist to order these studies initially for licensees under the jurisdiction of the MS State Board of Physical Therapy.