Name

Mississippi Jurisprudence Exam Regulations & Statute

Exam #1

- 1. The purpose of the Regulations Governing Licensure of Physical Therapists and Physical Therapist Assistants is to:
 - a. Safeguard the public's health, safety and welfare
 - b. Generate funds for the State.
 - c. Keep track of licensees.
 - d. To irritate practitioners
- 2. The section of the Mississippi Code that establishes the Mississippi Physical Therapy Practice Act is:
 - a. 73-77-100 et seq.
 - b. 73-23-31 et seq.
 - c. 73-35-35 et seq.
 - d. 73-35-50 et seq.
- 3. The Mississippi State Board of Physical Therapy shall consist of how many members:
 - a. 10
 - b. 15
 - c. 7
 - d. 9
- 4. The Board holds meetings every _____.
 - a. Month
 - b. Quarter
 - c. Week
 - d. Six months
- 5. A physical therapist temporary licensee shall practice under the direct supervision of a physical therapist licensed in Mississippi. Direct supervision in this case shall mean:
 - a. Daily face to face communication between the supervising physical therapist and temporary licensee
 - b. On premises observation of patient care in each of the temporary licensee's practice settings, a minimum of two (2) hours per day.
 - c. Availability of the supervising therapist via telecommunications when he/she is not on premises.
 - d. All of the above.
- 6. The Board's requirement for a licensee to submit a change of address is:
 - a. Six (6) months after change is effective
 - b. Three (3) months after change is effective
 - c. Thirty (30) days after change is effective
 - d. Ten days after change is effective

- 7. A person licensed to practice physical therapy in Mississippi shall be issued a Certificate of Licensure and License Identification card. The requirement for display of these documents is:
 - a. Prominently display certificate or copy thereof at places of employment and carry the ID card with them at all times and show ID card when requested.
 - b. Display certificate and ID card at home.
 - c. File license and ID card in personnel file at place of employment.
 - d. Do not need to display license or ID card only issued the license.
- 8. The regulatory requirement for continuing education is how many hours:
 - a. 12
 - b. 30
 - c. 48
 - d. 20
- 9. Of the required hours for continuing education, how many hours must be clinical?
 - a. 10
 - b. 2
 - c. 7.5
 - d. 15
- 10. Continuing education must be accrued from approved sources. Which of the following is <u>not</u> an approved source:
 - a. educational programs given and approved by any Physical Therapy licensure jurisdiction in the United States
 - b. educational programs given and approved by the APTA.
 - c. CPR education.
 - d. University of Mississippi Medical Center offerings
- 11. Licensees may be subject to the exercise of disciplinary sanctions if the Board finds that a licensee is guilty of which of the following:
 - a. Negligence in the practice or performance of professional services or activities.
 - b. Engaging in dishonorable, unethical or unprofessional conduct of a nature likely to deceive, defraud or harm the public.
 - c. Being convicted of any crime, which is a felony under the laws of this State or the United States.
 - d. Any of the above.
- 12. The Board may suspend a license if it finds a licensee guilty of violation of any regulated offenses. For how long may a license be suspended?
 - a. 6 months
 - b. 1 year
 - c. any period of time
 - d. only within the sentencing guidelines
- 13. A supervisory visit to a PTA by a physical therapist should include which of the following:
 - a. A complete functional assessment
 - b. Review of activities with appropriate revision or termination of the

plan of care.

- c. Documentary evidence of such visit.
- d. All of the above.
- 14. The supervising physical therapist must visit and personally render treatment and reassess each patient who is rendered treatment by a physical therapist assistant at what intervals?
 - a. A minimum of at least once every sixth treatment day or thirtieth calendar day, whichever comes first.
 - b. One calendar week.
 - c. First and last days of treatment plan
 - d. None of the above
- 15. Which of the following is <u>not</u> a referral source for PT treatment?
 - a. physician
 - b. podiatrist
 - c. psychologist
 - d. dentist
- 16. "Physical therapy" and "physiotherapy" are terms:
 - a. identical and interchangeable.
 - b. appropriate for usage by a physician
 - c. used to define athletic training
 - d. describing only activities of the physical therapist assistant
- 17. Which of the following activities or interventions is a PTA qualified and legally able to perform in Mississippi?
 - a. JROM exercises
 - b. screening patients
 - c. both a & b
 - d. only a
- 18. Licensees who are disciplined can be:
 - a. listed on the Board website
 - b. reported to a national data bank
 - c. both a & b
 - d. only b
- 19. How often must Mississippi physical therapy licenses be renewed?
 - a. annually
 - b. biennial
 - c. triennially
 - d. quintiannually
- 20. The Board has the authority to:
 - a. may inspect and copy patient records.
 - b. enter and inspect any place where physical therapy is practiced
 - c. immediately revoke a license if a client is in danger
 - d. all of the above