## Mississippi State Board of Physical Therapy PO Box 55707 Jackson, MS 39296-5707 PH (601) 352-2918 FAX (601) 352-2920

## MEMORANDUM-IMPORTANT-PLEASE READ ENTIRE MEMO

TO: Physical Therapist Assistants Licensee

FROM: Stephanie Boyette, Board Administrator

RE: Physical Therapist Licensure Reinstatement

Your license to practice as a physical therapist assistants in Mississippi expired at midnight, June 30, 2013. Steps for renewal reinstatement are listed below:

Renewal Application Form - Please complete both sides of this form in their entirety. Personal and employment information, including telephone numbers, should be updated to the right side of any incorrect information. Failure to complete every required section of the application will result in the application being returned to you for completion and will delay receipt of your renewed license. Please review the application before mailing.

<u>Continuing Education (CE)</u> – The CE form must be downloaded and completed for the continuing education section. Fill this out listing all CE courses completed. Enclose proof of course credits including proof that the course is an <u>approved</u> course. Please send <u>copies only</u> of course certificates. We cannot return original certificates or keep them on file. Courses approved by the Board are listed on the Board's website. You may refer to Part 3103 Rule 5.4 of the regulations for other sources of approved courses. <u>Courses not approved by the Board or one of the entities listed in Part 3103 Rule 5.4 of the regulations will not be accepted for inclusion in total CE requirement.</u>

<u>Fee(s)</u> – Enclose a check or money order made payable to the Mississippi State Board of Physical Therapy (MSBPT) in the amount of <u>\$475.00</u> (renewal, late renewal and reinstatement fee) as set forth in the *Regulations Governing Licensure of Physical Therapists and Physical Therapist Assistants*.

NOTE: Any application postmarked after June 30, 2013 is considered late and your license will be considered expired. Once a license has expired, late fees plus regular renewal license fees must be received by the Board before your license will be renewed. Please refer to Part 3103 Rule 4.2 and 4.3 of the regulations for information concerning late renewal and reinstatement. Once a license has expired, a licensee must cease practice until the license is reinstated, or the licensee will be in violation of the enabling statute. Licensees not renewing licensure should update appropriate information, check the non-renewing box on the renewal form, sign the form, and return it to this office. A minimum turnaround time of one week should be expected once a completed renewal application is on file in the Board's office. Please plan accordingly.

You are reminded that it is the licensee's responsibility to notify this office, in writing, of any changes in personal or professional status. This includes, but is not limited to, address changes, name changes, employment changes, and the disposition of any criminal or civil action filed against you. Name change requests must be accompanied by a certified copy of a legal document

attesting the change. Address changes must be reported to the Board within thirty (30) days after the change occurs. The Board will assess an administrative fine of twenty-five dollars (\$25.00) for failure to timely notify of address change.

Part 3103 Rule 4.1 (1) states: The licensure period shall be construed as July 1 through June 30 of odd-numbered years for persons whose surnames begin with A through L; and, the licensure period shall be construed as July 1 through June 30 of even-numbered years for persons whose surnames begin with M through Z. However, if a licensee's name is changed, he or she shall remain in the same licensure renewal group as originally assigned.

The regulations can be viewed at the Board's website (<u>www.msbpt.ms.gov</u>). We suggest that you download a copy and keep it in a convenient place for easy referral.