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Let’s see…the Board has been very busy over the past 6 months working on behalf 
of the consumers and physical therapy practitioners in the state.  We’ve completed 
telehealth and dry needling regulations, and they have been submitted to the 
Occupational Licensing Review Committee (OLRC) and the Secretary of State’s 
Office as proposed rules.  We have almost completed updating the regulations to 
streamline and minimize the process of garnering and maintaining licensure in 
the State of Mississippi.  We now have therapists working in our state utilizing 
the Compact Privilege License.  We have continued with the business of investi-
gating and disciplining those practitioners who do not have the best interests of 
our clients and patients at the forefront.  We joined with others to defeat a bill in 
the Mississippi legislative session that would have swept our Board into a shared 
services arrangement with others.  We have embarked on a journey to investigate 
distribution of the PT/PTA workforce in Mississippi and attempt to predict future 
needs.  As you can see, we’ve been active and positive on behalf of the profession 
and its patients.  

The word of the day today is FIDUCIARY.  Is that a new word for you?  Borrowed 
from the banking, finance, and legal field, it simply means that professionals in 
fields with fiduciary responsibility are bound by ethics and law to put the needs 
of the client/patient ahead of their own needs.  Whether or not you want it, as a 
health care professional, you possess fiduciary responsibility.  What might that 
look like for you?  It might mean staying late or coming in early to accommodate 
a scheduling request.  It might mean refraining from up-charging for services 
provided.  It likely means allowing only licensed physical therapy practitioners 
to assist patients with programs.  It might look like many things for you in your 
practice.  The important thing to remember is that as a professional, you are in the 
seat of authority, and our clients are in the vulnerable position.  It is our responsi-
bility to protect that vulnerable patient and ensure that he/she gets the quality and 
outcomes desired.  As physical therapy practitioners, let’s go out there and exercise 
our FIDUCIARY responsibility.

Cyndi K. Scott, PT, PhD, MBA

Word from Board Chair

Mississippi State Board 
of Physical Therapy
Post Office Box 55707
Jackson, MS 39296-5707

Change of Home Address, Worksite or Name
It is the responsibility of licensees to provide the Board with written notification of address changes (home 
and/or work) no later than 30 days after such change is effective according to Part 3103 Rule 1.9.  For a name 
change, a copy of an acceptable legal document must accompany the request. The forms accepted are a copy 
of your marriage certificate or divorce decree. Failure to keep your address or name change current will result 
in a $25.00 fee for the cost of resending any correspondence or materials.

Mail this form to the Mississippi Board of Physical Therapy, P.O. Box 55707, Jackson, MS 39296-5707 or fax to (601) 352-2920.

name	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 license #

FORMER name

FORMER address (City, State, Zip)	 	 	 	 	 County

New address (City, State, Zip)	 	 	 	 	 County

Phone Number	 	 	 Email address

Former Employer:

PRESENT primary employer	 	 address (City, State, Zip)	 	 phone number

(      )

(      )

Reminder – Licensure 
Requirement for 

Mississippi PTs and PTAs
 

The Mississippi Board of Physical Therapy 
(Board)  requires all licensees to report compli-
ance with continuing competence by utilizing the 
free online system  at https://pt.fsbpt.net/aPTitude. 
The  aPTitude  system was built by the Federation of 
State Boards of Physical Therapy (FSBPT) to help PTs 
and PTAs comply with licensure renewal requirements, 
maintain their ongoing competence, and manage their 
activity records. The Mississippi Board has determined 
that  aPTitude  is the appropriate tool for PTs and 
PTAs to record their completed continuing competence 
activities and report that information to the Board for 
the random compliance audit at the time of renewal.

Create your free account in aPTitude and begin record-
ing your completed activities and uploading your cer-
tificates or other completion documentation as soon as 
possible. All that is required to create your account is 
your name, license number, and email address.  If you 
have not registered by the date of your renewal, this 
will result in a delay with processing your licensure 
renewal. 

Here is a list of aPTitude features:

•	� Maintain your licensure information and transcript of 
completed continuing competence courses and other 
activities

•	 Securely store completion certificates

•	� Be reminded of the license renewal and continuing 
competence completion deadline

•	� Track completion progress for all licenses held (in 
addition to Mississippi)

•	� Find qualifying courses – many currently approved 
continuing competence courses for Mississippi are 
in aPTitude

•	� Ability to create and record a course that is not 
listed in aPTitude but that is accepted by MS

For assistance with your aPTitude account, email aPTi-
tudeHelp@fsbpt.org or by telephone at 703.299.3100, 
option 5.  Contact the Board for answers to questions 
on Mississippi’s continuing competence requirements.

Complaints & Disciplinary Actions in 2018  
Complaints received:  23
Physical Therapists – 13
Physical Therapist Assistants – 10
Non-Physical Therapy Practitioners - 1

Disposition of complaints: Closed – no action/violations - 6
Board hearings - 4 	     
Pending investigation - 17
Issued Stipulation and Consent Order - 2
Revocation of license - 0

The Physical Therapist Assistant 
Profession Turns 50

While the American Physical Therapy Association’s (APTA) centen-
nial may be a couple of years away, there’s another cause for celebra-
tion right here, right now: 2019 marks the 50th anniversary of the 
first physical therapist assistant (PTA) graduates.  The celebration 
kicked off at the 2018 House of Delegates in Orlando when the PTA 
Caucus introduced the #PTA10K campaign and continued during 
the 2019 Combined Sections Meeting (CSM) in Washington D.C. 
with a huge party for the PTAs attending CSM.

The PTA is the only other physical therapy provider.  PTAs stand 
side by side with the physical therapists (PT) in the clinic, during 
continuing education programs, and during advocacy events on the 
local, state, and national levels.  The PTA is constantly evolving to 
meet the challenges of our ever-changing healthcare system.  PTAs 
have earned the respect of the PTs with whom they work as well 
as nurses, allied health professionals, and others in the medical 
community.  They are recognized as competent clinicians who are 
well-trained to carry out physical therapy interventions and progress 
patients per the PT plan of care. 

Physical Therapist Assistants are regulated in each state; they are 
required to stay abreast of current and emerging treatment strategies 
through continuing education. 

I look forward to seeing what the next fifty years will bring for the 
profession of physical therapy and the role of the physical therapist 
assistant.  Many challenges are in front of us, and I believe that 
we are poised to face them with the courage and strength that our 
patients exhibit on a daily basis.  Congratulations for achieving 50 
years of success, earned respect, and dignified work.

Here’s to 50 more!

Jeremy Foster, LPTA
Mississippi PTA Caucus Representative
Academy of Acute Care PTA at Large
Academy of Clinical Electrophysiology and Wound Care 
Management PTA at Large

  
  

  

  

Happy Spring!



D id   Y o u  K n o w ?
v	�� There are 2,101 physical therapists and 1,359 physical therapist assistants with active Mississippi licenses as of April 9, 

2019.

v	�� The next scheduled Board meeting is July 11, 2019. This meeting is open to the public.

v	�� The Board office will be closed April 29, 2019 for a legal state holiday.

v	�� The simplest way to add a course to your aPTitude profile is to locate the create and record a course section. The website 
for aPTitude is https://pt.fsbpt.net/aPTitude.

v	� If you need to verify the number of CCUs needed for your next renewal, login to your profile and select the education tab.

v	� You can check the status of a request that you have made by logging into your profile and selecting the tracking tab.

v	You can change your residential address and employment address by logging into your profile.

v	�W hen you pay a fee online and get an error message during the process, please contact the Board office to verify 
that your transaction was completed.

v	All Board members are appointed by the Governor.

v	The Board no longer accepts paper applications.

v	� The Board office does not accept cash payments. We accept checks or money orders with mailed in items; we do accept 
payment by debit/credit cards when paying fees or making a purchase online.

 v	We are here to serve you so please do not hesitate to call the Board office for assistance at (601) 352-2918.

New Licensees
The Board is pleased to welcome 61 new licensees to the physical therapy community in Mississippi. This number includes 
both licensees who were issued since the winter 2018 newsletter and the Compact Privilege licensees issued since July 2018.  
Welcome to the physical therapy practitioner community in Mississippi!!

Physical Therapists:
Barker, Milissa C.
Beard, Austin G.
Brooks, Brenda H.
Church, Brady J.
Fenimore, Heather J.
Fitchpatrick, Kira Sade
Gonzales, Christine B.
Green, Krista L.
Hewett, LaTonyia J.
Huelsing, Mitchell E.
Hunnicutt, Heather L.
Jennings, Aneesha P.
Koller, George B.
Needham, Chelsea N.
Peterson, Elysia S.
Poe, Caleb Ryan
Soave, Kenneth P.
Starke, Monique E.
Warnock, Kaili Lynn

Physical Therapist Assistants:
Alvaro, Jacqueline M.
Arnold, Brittany Nichole
Breland, Donald L.
Dickard, Kirsten Marie
Elmore, Kayla L.
Graham, Camden Amelia
Hernandez, Deanna M
Hollander, Jennifer Cathrine
Huggins, Chelsea M.
Livingston, Devin Kyle
Rogers, Melody M.
Sellers, Katie V.
Tester, Eve Amelia
Turner, Brooks E.

Physical therapy practitioners who 
have reinstated their license since 
the winter 2018 newsletter.

Physical Therapists:
Algee, Robert D.
Shipp, Kelsey Adams
Simmons, Mary Blackledge

Physical Therapist Assistants:
Chisholm, Stephanie T.
Crutcher, Catherine E.
Worth, Patrick T.

Compact Privilege:
As one of the first states to imple-
ment the Compact Privilege for physi-
cal therapy practitioners, the follow-
ing is a list of those who have been 
issued a compact privilege:

Abesamis, Mark     	 CP000137A

Adams, Nicholas E.  	 CP000166T

Black, Brian R.  	 CP000143A

Boland, Kail M.	 CP000067T

Brandon, Jada A. 	 CP000031A

Burch, Adam 	 CP000034A

Coleman, Chandler E.	 CP000065A

Colon, Emily	 CP000118T

Daniels, Jeffrey B.	 CP000179T

Eiken, Kristin A.	 CP000125T

Farhat, Hassan	 CP000087T

Henson, Jimmie D.	 CP000142A

Hogue, Hannah K.	 CP000035T

Jackson, Melissa Ann	 CP000128A

LeNoir, Betty	 CP000025T

MacNeill, Caroline	 CP000149T

Musa, Jan Cupid	 CP000172T

Petersen, Stephanie A.	 CP000102A

Poole, Lisa A.	 CP000097T

Powers, Kelly C.	 CP000061T

Swedenburg, Courtney P.	 CP000059T

Williford, Lora R.	 CP000048T

As it stands at this time, twelve (12) 
states are actively issuing and accept-
ing compact privileges.  Those states 
are: Mississippi, Tennessee, Missouri, 
Utah, Oregon, North Dakota, Texas, 
Iowa, New Hampshire, Kentucky, 
Arizona and Nebraska.

If you are interested in exploring the 
compact privilege and its availabil-
ity to you at this time, the first step 
you should take is to go to the web-
site which is www.ptcompact.org and 
review the information on the com-
pact.  For answers to any questions that 
you have, you may call the Compact 
Commission at (703) 562-8500.

Look what’s available on our website at www.msbpt.ms.gov.  Please visit the website frequently for updated information.

You can find:

att   e n ti  o n

•	� Application packet

•	� Continuing Competence – a list of approved courses

•	� Consumer Awareness and Protection

•	� Current Board members

•	� Dry Needling requirements

•	� How to file a complaint

•	� Information on how to get a course approved

•	� Licensure renewal information

•	� Links to APTA, MPTA, FSBPT and more

•	� List of current disciplinary actions

•	� Name/Address change forms and many more

•	� Practice Act and Rules and Regulations

•	� Scheduled Board meetings

•	� Verification of License – check to see if  
someone is licensed

Renewal Options and Reminders
The Board suggests that you keep the following information in 
mind when renewing your license:

ONLINE RENEWAL IS MANDATORY. THE ONLINE 
APPLICATION SHOULD BE SUBMITTED NO 
EARLIER THAN MAY 1st.

Address Changes:  Have you moved or had a change in 
employment?  Did you notify the Board office in writing 
of the change?  The Board will mail renewal notices approxi-
mately sixty (60) days prior to the end of the licensure period. 
This means the notice will be mailed prior to May 1, 2019 to 
the last home address on file with the Board.  Please notify 
the Board immediately by logging into your online profile and 
making address and employment changes yourself; or, you 
may email, fax, or mail your changes in information.  Refer to 
Part 3103 Rule 1.9 of the regulations. 

Completion of renewal application:  You should verify 
that you have answered every question, including updating 
any changes to your personal and professional addresses and 
telephone numbers and that you have listed all continuing 
competence (CC) courses in aPTitude.  The entire address 
(name, address, city, state, zip and telephone number) for both 
home and employment should be included in completing your 
renewal application. The information requested is pertinent for 
Board use, and your renewal will not be completed until you 
have provided this information. 

Photo Required:  If you do not have a photo in your profile or 
if your photo is older than four (4) years, you will be instructed 
to upload a new photo before the RED renewal button will 
be displayed.  The photo must be an approximate size of 2x2 
inches, head and shoulder only, full face, front view, in color 
on a plain white background, standard photo stock paper. 
Scanned or computer-generated photographs must be printed 
on photo quality paper and must have no visible pixels or dots.  
Photos can be uploaded to the licensee’s profile or the photo 
(in jpeg format) can be emailed to sboyette@msbpt.ms.gov or 
mailed into the Board office.  As an alternative to scanning an 
actual photo, you may have someone take a photo of you with 
your smart phone or make a selfie and upload it from your 
phone to your profile.  Refer to Part 3103 Rule 4.1.3

Photos that will not be accepted include: 1) photo that 
includes anyone besides you; 2) no sunglasses, hat or cap; 3) 
copy of a photograph; 4) driver’s license photo and/or picture 
identification.  

Renewal Fee:  The renewal fee is $150.00 for physical thera-
pists and $125.00 for physical therapist assistants.  Online 
renewal requires payment by a credit card or electronic check.

Continuing Competence:  List all approved CC courses in 
aPTitude.  Then enter the total number of CC hours from 
aPTitude into the Education tab in your profile.  If you are 
selected for CC random audit, you will see a message in red 
that “you have been randomly selected for CC audit” on 
the payment screen.  You will also receive an email notifica-
tion. Since CC documentation is part of the renewal process, 
you will not receive your new seal and identification card until 
you meet the requirements of random audits.  If your certifi-
cates have not been uploaded to aPTitude by June 30, 2019, 
you will be placed on CC probation. All physical therapists 
and physical therapist assistants need to be aware that the 
Board can review anyone’s continuing competence certifi-
cates at any time.

Mandatory CC Compliance: All licensees must record 
and report compliance of continuing competence activities 
through the free online aPTitude program of the FSBPT at 
https://pt.fsbpt.net/aPTitude.  For assistance with your aPTi-
tude account, email aPTittudeHelp@fsbpt.org or by telephone 
at (703) 299-3100, option 5.  Refer to Part 3103 Rule 5.5.

Currently on CC Probation:  Those licensees that are cur-
rently on CC probation will be able to renew online, but the 
renewal process will not be complete until all documenta-
tion related to your CC probationary requirements have been 
received and reviewed through aPTitude. Please note that your 
expiration date will not change until this review has occurred.  
Refer to Part 3103 Rule 5.2(6).

Change of name:  If you are requesting a change of name, a 
copy of a legal document must accompany the name change 
request.  Legal documents consist of a copy of your marriage 
license or divorce decree.

Be on Time:  It is in your best interest to submit the online 
renewal prior to June 30, 2019 to avoid late and reinstatement 
fees. Renewals completed in their entirety should have their 
new identification card and licensure seal before the end of the 
licensure period. All licensees will be able to review their expi-
ration date in their profile, and the new date is immediately 
available for verification. The Board staff cannot guarantee 
that renewals received after June 14, 2019 will be processed 
in time for licensees to receive confirmation of renewal in the 
mail prior to June 30, 2019. 

Verify receipt of renewal:  Upon completion of the online 
renewal payment process, you will have the opportunity to 
print a receipt of payment and proof of renewal having been 
received.  If you do not print the receipt at that time, you can 
go to the payment tab in your profile and print proof of pay-
ment.

Failure to renew before the deadline:  A licensee who 
does not file all requirements for renewal before the end of 
the licensure period will be deemed to have allowed his/her 
license to lapse.  Those individuals whose licenses expire will 
be required to pay the late fee in addition to the renewal fee.  
Failure to submit all renewal requirements by September 30 
shall result in the necessity of the payment of a reinstatement 
fee in addition to the late fee and renewal fee. Refer to Part 
3103 Rule 4.3 of the regulations.  Remember…you may not 
practice as a physical therapist or as a physical therapist assis-
tant until your license has been reinstated.  Practicing with a 
lapsed license could result in disciplinary action by the Board.

SPECIAL REQUEST:  During renewal period, May 1-June 
30, the Board office is extremely busy with processing renew-
als.  At the same time, we have all of the graduating physical 
therapists and physical therapist assistants applying for licen-
sure and meeting deadlines for taking the NPTE.  We are ask-
ing that you PLEASE REFRAIN FROM CALLING THE 
BOARD OFFICE TO VERIFY THAT A CONTINUING 
COMPETENCE COURSE/ACTIVITY IS APPROVED.  
If you need to check the approval of a continuing competence 
course, please go to the Continuing Competence page on the 
website and follow the INSTRUCTIONS that are posted there 
concerning CC APPROVAL. The link you need to select is:  
IMPORTANT NOTICE REGARDING CCU APPROVAL.  
The Board staff thanks you for helping us process renewals 
and graduate applications in a timely manner.

As a physical therapist or physical therapist assistant licensee, it is YOUR 
responsibility to verify that the continuing competence (CC) courses you 
take are courses that meet the requirements of our regulations.  To ensure 
that your courses are approved, please follow the steps listed below:

1.	 �Go to the Continuing Competence page on the website (www.msbpt.
ms.gov) and select the list of approved courses for the appropriate year.  To 
be certain that you are taking courses that are acceptable to the Mississippi 
State Board of Physical Therapy, it is best to select courses that the Board 
has reviewed, approved, and placed on this list. ONLY courses that have 
been submitted to the Mississippi Board for review appear on this list.  
ALWAYS check this list before registering and paying for a course.

2.	 �If a course you would like to take does not appear on our list, you may 
check the regulations that appear at the top of the list and see if the 
course information provided to you by the sponsor lists any of the general 
approvals that we accept, such as courses approved by another state 
chapter of APTA.  However, if there is any doubt in your mind whether 
the course is acceptable, you should follow the instructions in #3.

3.	 �CALL THE SPONSORING ORGANIZATION.  Ask if they have 
submitted the course to Mississippi and received approval.  If they 
respond that the course is approved in Mississippi, ask the sponsor to 
fax or email a copy of the approval letter to you. At this point, you may 
discover that they are relying on the statement in our regulations Part 
3103 Rule 5.4 (1) (b) that says that the Board will accept “Conferences 
and continuing competence activities provided by the American Physical 
Therapy Association (APTA), Mississippi Physical Therapy Association 
(MPTA), and other state chapters and sections of APTA.”  If that is the 
case, the sponsor needs to put in writing, either in a letter or an email, a 
statement indicating approval of the course is “Per Mississippi Regulation 
Part 3103 Rule 5.4 (1) (b) the course will be accepted by the Mississippi 
State Board of Physical Therapy”. They should also provide you with a list 
of any other state Physical Therapy Associations that have approved the 
course.  DO NOT ACCEPT THEIR VERBAL STATEMENT THAT 
THE COURSE IS APPROVED IN MISSISSIPPI!

IMPORTANT NOTICE  
REGARDING CCU APPROVAL

John Rayborn, PT
Rhonda Bush, PTA
Dana Rawls, PTA
Skyla Maples, PTA
Allison McKenzie, PT
Alisa Williams, PTA
Joseph Cooley, Jr, PT
James Blackwell, PTA 
Sarah Douglas, PTA 
Daniel Diers, PT
Lori Landrum, PT
Sara Norval, PT	
Stephen Jernigan, PT
Lisa Weathers, PT
Deborah Domino, PTA 

Douglas Fleming, PT 
Cynthia Jarrett, PT 
Hope Lang, PTA 
Ernesto Paras, Jr., PT 
Laura Selby, PT
Caroline Oakes Strazi, PT
Dontavious Toles, PTA
Kaley D. Carpenter, PTA
Sonya Whitfield, PT
Luis Castro, PT
Kayley R. Carpenter, PTA
Thomas McGraw, PT
Jennifer Pickens, PT 
Natalie Whitehead, PTA

Random Audits
The Board is authorized by state statute to 
enter and make inspections of any place where 
physical therapy is practiced.  Accordingly, the 
Board through its agents continues random 
inspections and audits to determine if licensees 
are in compliance with the Board regulations.  
During 2018 no licensees were cited by the 
Board.

The Board expresses its thanks for the courte-
ous cooperation received by its inspectors at 
the majority of the sites visited.  The Board is 
also pleased that several sites seemed to be in 
full compliance with physical therapy laws and 
regulations.  Keep up the good work.

Random Audits: During 2018 the following 
practitioners were inspected and audited.  The 
Board is happy to announce their compliance. 



D id   Y o u  K n o w ?
v	�� There are 2,101 physical therapists and 1,359 physical therapist assistants with active Mississippi licenses as of April 9, 

2019.

v	�� The next scheduled Board meeting is July 11, 2019. This meeting is open to the public.

v	�� The Board office will be closed April 29, 2019 for a legal state holiday.

v	�� The simplest way to add a course to your aPTitude profile is to locate the create and record a course section. The website 
for aPTitude is https://pt.fsbpt.net/aPTitude.

v	� If you need to verify the number of CCUs needed for your next renewal, login to your profile and select the education tab.

v	� You can check the status of a request that you have made by logging into your profile and selecting the tracking tab.

v	You can change your residential address and employment address by logging into your profile.

v	�W hen you pay a fee online and get an error message during the process, please contact the Board office to verify 
that your transaction was completed.

v	All Board members are appointed by the Governor.

v	The Board no longer accepts paper applications.

v	� The Board office does not accept cash payments. We accept checks or money orders with mailed in items; we do accept 
payment by debit/credit cards when paying fees or making a purchase online.

 v	We are here to serve you so please do not hesitate to call the Board office for assistance at (601) 352-2918.

New Licensees
The Board is pleased to welcome 61 new licensees to the physical therapy community in Mississippi. This number includes 
both licensees who were issued since the winter 2018 newsletter and the Compact Privilege licensees issued since July 2018.  
Welcome to the physical therapy practitioner community in Mississippi!!

Physical Therapists:
Barker, Milissa C.
Beard, Austin G.
Brooks, Brenda H.
Church, Brady J.
Fenimore, Heather J.
Fitchpatrick, Kira Sade
Gonzales, Christine B.
Green, Krista L.
Hewett, LaTonyia J.
Huelsing, Mitchell E.
Hunnicutt, Heather L.
Jennings, Aneesha P.
Koller, George B.
Needham, Chelsea N.
Peterson, Elysia S.
Poe, Caleb Ryan
Soave, Kenneth P.
Starke, Monique E.
Warnock, Kaili Lynn

Physical Therapist Assistants:
Alvaro, Jacqueline M.
Arnold, Brittany Nichole
Breland, Donald L.
Dickard, Kirsten Marie
Elmore, Kayla L.
Graham, Camden Amelia
Hernandez, Deanna M
Hollander, Jennifer Cathrine
Huggins, Chelsea M.
Livingston, Devin Kyle
Rogers, Melody M.
Sellers, Katie V.
Tester, Eve Amelia
Turner, Brooks E.

Physical therapy practitioners who 
have reinstated their license since 
the winter 2018 newsletter.

Physical Therapists:
Algee, Robert D.
Shipp, Kelsey Adams
Simmons, Mary Blackledge

Physical Therapist Assistants:
Chisholm, Stephanie T.
Crutcher, Catherine E.
Worth, Patrick T.

Compact Privilege:
As one of the first states to imple-
ment the Compact Privilege for physi-
cal therapy practitioners, the follow-
ing is a list of those who have been 
issued a compact privilege:

Abesamis, Mark     	 CP000137A

Adams, Nicholas E.  	 CP000166T

Black, Brian R.  	 CP000143A

Boland, Kail M.	 CP000067T

Brandon, Jada A. 	 CP000031A

Burch, Adam 	 CP000034A

Coleman, Chandler E.	 CP000065A

Colon, Emily	 CP000118T

Daniels, Jeffrey B.	 CP000179T

Eiken, Kristin A.	 CP000125T

Farhat, Hassan	 CP000087T

Henson, Jimmie D.	 CP000142A

Hogue, Hannah K.	 CP000035T

Jackson, Melissa Ann	 CP000128A

LeNoir, Betty	 CP000025T

MacNeill, Caroline	 CP000149T

Musa, Jan Cupid	 CP000172T

Petersen, Stephanie A.	 CP000102A

Poole, Lisa A.	 CP000097T

Powers, Kelly C.	 CP000061T

Swedenburg, Courtney P.	 CP000059T

Williford, Lora R.	 CP000048T

As it stands at this time, twelve (12) 
states are actively issuing and accept-
ing compact privileges.  Those states 
are: Mississippi, Tennessee, Missouri, 
Utah, Oregon, North Dakota, Texas, 
Iowa, New Hampshire, Kentucky, 
Arizona and Nebraska.

If you are interested in exploring the 
compact privilege and its availabil-
ity to you at this time, the first step 
you should take is to go to the web-
site which is www.ptcompact.org and 
review the information on the com-
pact.  For answers to any questions that 
you have, you may call the Compact 
Commission at (703) 562-8500.

Look what’s available on our website at www.msbpt.ms.gov.  Please visit the website frequently for updated information.
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Renewal Options and Reminders
The Board suggests that you keep the following information in 
mind when renewing your license:

ONLINE RENEWAL IS MANDATORY. THE ONLINE 
APPLICATION SHOULD BE SUBMITTED NO 
EARLIER THAN MAY 1st.

Address Changes:  Have you moved or had a change in 
employment?  Did you notify the Board office in writing 
of the change?  The Board will mail renewal notices approxi-
mately sixty (60) days prior to the end of the licensure period. 
This means the notice will be mailed prior to May 1, 2019 to 
the last home address on file with the Board.  Please notify 
the Board immediately by logging into your online profile and 
making address and employment changes yourself; or, you 
may email, fax, or mail your changes in information.  Refer to 
Part 3103 Rule 1.9 of the regulations. 

Completion of renewal application:  You should verify 
that you have answered every question, including updating 
any changes to your personal and professional addresses and 
telephone numbers and that you have listed all continuing 
competence (CC) courses in aPTitude.  The entire address 
(name, address, city, state, zip and telephone number) for both 
home and employment should be included in completing your 
renewal application. The information requested is pertinent for 
Board use, and your renewal will not be completed until you 
have provided this information. 

Photo Required:  If you do not have a photo in your profile or 
if your photo is older than four (4) years, you will be instructed 
to upload a new photo before the RED renewal button will 
be displayed.  The photo must be an approximate size of 2x2 
inches, head and shoulder only, full face, front view, in color 
on a plain white background, standard photo stock paper. 
Scanned or computer-generated photographs must be printed 
on photo quality paper and must have no visible pixels or dots.  
Photos can be uploaded to the licensee’s profile or the photo 
(in jpeg format) can be emailed to sboyette@msbpt.ms.gov or 
mailed into the Board office.  As an alternative to scanning an 
actual photo, you may have someone take a photo of you with 
your smart phone or make a selfie and upload it from your 
phone to your profile.  Refer to Part 3103 Rule 4.1.3

Photos that will not be accepted include: 1) photo that 
includes anyone besides you; 2) no sunglasses, hat or cap; 3) 
copy of a photograph; 4) driver’s license photo and/or picture 
identification.  

Renewal Fee:  The renewal fee is $150.00 for physical thera-
pists and $125.00 for physical therapist assistants.  Online 
renewal requires payment by a credit card or electronic check.

Continuing Competence:  List all approved CC courses in 
aPTitude.  Then enter the total number of CC hours from 
aPTitude into the Education tab in your profile.  If you are 
selected for CC random audit, you will see a message in red 
that “you have been randomly selected for CC audit” on 
the payment screen.  You will also receive an email notifica-
tion. Since CC documentation is part of the renewal process, 
you will not receive your new seal and identification card until 
you meet the requirements of random audits.  If your certifi-
cates have not been uploaded to aPTitude by June 30, 2019, 
you will be placed on CC probation. All physical therapists 
and physical therapist assistants need to be aware that the 
Board can review anyone’s continuing competence certifi-
cates at any time.

Mandatory CC Compliance: All licensees must record 
and report compliance of continuing competence activities 
through the free online aPTitude program of the FSBPT at 
https://pt.fsbpt.net/aPTitude.  For assistance with your aPTi-
tude account, email aPTittudeHelp@fsbpt.org or by telephone 
at (703) 299-3100, option 5.  Refer to Part 3103 Rule 5.5.

Currently on CC Probation:  Those licensees that are cur-
rently on CC probation will be able to renew online, but the 
renewal process will not be complete until all documenta-
tion related to your CC probationary requirements have been 
received and reviewed through aPTitude. Please note that your 
expiration date will not change until this review has occurred.  
Refer to Part 3103 Rule 5.2(6).

Change of name:  If you are requesting a change of name, a 
copy of a legal document must accompany the name change 
request.  Legal documents consist of a copy of your marriage 
license or divorce decree.

Be on Time:  It is in your best interest to submit the online 
renewal prior to June 30, 2019 to avoid late and reinstatement 
fees. Renewals completed in their entirety should have their 
new identification card and licensure seal before the end of the 
licensure period. All licensees will be able to review their expi-
ration date in their profile, and the new date is immediately 
available for verification. The Board staff cannot guarantee 
that renewals received after June 14, 2019 will be processed 
in time for licensees to receive confirmation of renewal in the 
mail prior to June 30, 2019. 

Verify receipt of renewal:  Upon completion of the online 
renewal payment process, you will have the opportunity to 
print a receipt of payment and proof of renewal having been 
received.  If you do not print the receipt at that time, you can 
go to the payment tab in your profile and print proof of pay-
ment.

Failure to renew before the deadline:  A licensee who 
does not file all requirements for renewal before the end of 
the licensure period will be deemed to have allowed his/her 
license to lapse.  Those individuals whose licenses expire will 
be required to pay the late fee in addition to the renewal fee.  
Failure to submit all renewal requirements by September 30 
shall result in the necessity of the payment of a reinstatement 
fee in addition to the late fee and renewal fee. Refer to Part 
3103 Rule 4.3 of the regulations.  Remember…you may not 
practice as a physical therapist or as a physical therapist assis-
tant until your license has been reinstated.  Practicing with a 
lapsed license could result in disciplinary action by the Board.

SPECIAL REQUEST:  During renewal period, May 1-June 
30, the Board office is extremely busy with processing renew-
als.  At the same time, we have all of the graduating physical 
therapists and physical therapist assistants applying for licen-
sure and meeting deadlines for taking the NPTE.  We are ask-
ing that you PLEASE REFRAIN FROM CALLING THE 
BOARD OFFICE TO VERIFY THAT A CONTINUING 
COMPETENCE COURSE/ACTIVITY IS APPROVED.  
If you need to check the approval of a continuing competence 
course, please go to the Continuing Competence page on the 
website and follow the INSTRUCTIONS that are posted there 
concerning CC APPROVAL. The link you need to select is:  
IMPORTANT NOTICE REGARDING CCU APPROVAL.  
The Board staff thanks you for helping us process renewals 
and graduate applications in a timely manner.

As a physical therapist or physical therapist assistant licensee, it is YOUR 
responsibility to verify that the continuing competence (CC) courses you 
take are courses that meet the requirements of our regulations.  To ensure 
that your courses are approved, please follow the steps listed below:

1.	 �Go to the Continuing Competence page on the website (www.msbpt.
ms.gov) and select the list of approved courses for the appropriate year.  To 
be certain that you are taking courses that are acceptable to the Mississippi 
State Board of Physical Therapy, it is best to select courses that the Board 
has reviewed, approved, and placed on this list. ONLY courses that have 
been submitted to the Mississippi Board for review appear on this list.  
ALWAYS check this list before registering and paying for a course.

2.	 �If a course you would like to take does not appear on our list, you may 
check the regulations that appear at the top of the list and see if the 
course information provided to you by the sponsor lists any of the general 
approvals that we accept, such as courses approved by another state 
chapter of APTA.  However, if there is any doubt in your mind whether 
the course is acceptable, you should follow the instructions in #3.

3.	 �CALL THE SPONSORING ORGANIZATION.  Ask if they have 
submitted the course to Mississippi and received approval.  If they 
respond that the course is approved in Mississippi, ask the sponsor to 
fax or email a copy of the approval letter to you. At this point, you may 
discover that they are relying on the statement in our regulations Part 
3103 Rule 5.4 (1) (b) that says that the Board will accept “Conferences 
and continuing competence activities provided by the American Physical 
Therapy Association (APTA), Mississippi Physical Therapy Association 
(MPTA), and other state chapters and sections of APTA.”  If that is the 
case, the sponsor needs to put in writing, either in a letter or an email, a 
statement indicating approval of the course is “Per Mississippi Regulation 
Part 3103 Rule 5.4 (1) (b) the course will be accepted by the Mississippi 
State Board of Physical Therapy”. They should also provide you with a list 
of any other state Physical Therapy Associations that have approved the 
course.  DO NOT ACCEPT THEIR VERBAL STATEMENT THAT 
THE COURSE IS APPROVED IN MISSISSIPPI!

IMPORTANT NOTICE  
REGARDING CCU APPROVAL

John Rayborn, PT
Rhonda Bush, PTA
Dana Rawls, PTA
Skyla Maples, PTA
Allison McKenzie, PT
Alisa Williams, PTA
Joseph Cooley, Jr, PT
James Blackwell, PTA 
Sarah Douglas, PTA 
Daniel Diers, PT
Lori Landrum, PT
Sara Norval, PT	
Stephen Jernigan, PT
Lisa Weathers, PT
Deborah Domino, PTA 

Douglas Fleming, PT 
Cynthia Jarrett, PT 
Hope Lang, PTA 
Ernesto Paras, Jr., PT 
Laura Selby, PT
Caroline Oakes Strazi, PT
Dontavious Toles, PTA
Kaley D. Carpenter, PTA
Sonya Whitfield, PT
Luis Castro, PT
Kayley R. Carpenter, PTA
Thomas McGraw, PT
Jennifer Pickens, PT 
Natalie Whitehead, PTA

Random Audits
The Board is authorized by state statute to 
enter and make inspections of any place where 
physical therapy is practiced.  Accordingly, the 
Board through its agents continues random 
inspections and audits to determine if licensees 
are in compliance with the Board regulations.  
During 2018 no licensees were cited by the 
Board.

The Board expresses its thanks for the courte-
ous cooperation received by its inspectors at 
the majority of the sites visited.  The Board is 
also pleased that several sites seemed to be in 
full compliance with physical therapy laws and 
regulations.  Keep up the good work.

Random Audits: During 2018 the following 
practitioners were inspected and audited.  The 
Board is happy to announce their compliance. 



D id   Y o u  K n o w ?
v	�� There are 2,101 physical therapists and 1,359 physical therapist assistants with active Mississippi licenses as of April 9, 

2019.

v	�� The next scheduled Board meeting is July 11, 2019. This meeting is open to the public.

v	�� The Board office will be closed April 29, 2019 for a legal state holiday.

v	�� The simplest way to add a course to your aPTitude profile is to locate the create and record a course section. The website 
for aPTitude is https://pt.fsbpt.net/aPTitude.

v	� If you need to verify the number of CCUs needed for your next renewal, login to your profile and select the education tab.

v	� You can check the status of a request that you have made by logging into your profile and selecting the tracking tab.

v	You can change your residential address and employment address by logging into your profile.

v	�W hen you pay a fee online and get an error message during the process, please contact the Board office to verify 
that your transaction was completed.

v	All Board members are appointed by the Governor.

v	The Board no longer accepts paper applications.

v	� The Board office does not accept cash payments. We accept checks or money orders with mailed in items; we do accept 
payment by debit/credit cards when paying fees or making a purchase online.

 v	We are here to serve you so please do not hesitate to call the Board office for assistance at (601) 352-2918.

New Licensees
The Board is pleased to welcome 61 new licensees to the physical therapy community in Mississippi. This number includes 
both licensees who were issued since the winter 2018 newsletter and the Compact Privilege licensees issued since July 2018.  
Welcome to the physical therapy practitioner community in Mississippi!!

Physical Therapists:
Barker, Milissa C.
Beard, Austin G.
Brooks, Brenda H.
Church, Brady J.
Fenimore, Heather J.
Fitchpatrick, Kira Sade
Gonzales, Christine B.
Green, Krista L.
Hewett, LaTonyia J.
Huelsing, Mitchell E.
Hunnicutt, Heather L.
Jennings, Aneesha P.
Koller, George B.
Needham, Chelsea N.
Peterson, Elysia S.
Poe, Caleb Ryan
Soave, Kenneth P.
Starke, Monique E.
Warnock, Kaili Lynn

Physical Therapist Assistants:
Alvaro, Jacqueline M.
Arnold, Brittany Nichole
Breland, Donald L.
Dickard, Kirsten Marie
Elmore, Kayla L.
Graham, Camden Amelia
Hernandez, Deanna M
Hollander, Jennifer Cathrine
Huggins, Chelsea M.
Livingston, Devin Kyle
Rogers, Melody M.
Sellers, Katie V.
Tester, Eve Amelia
Turner, Brooks E.

Physical therapy practitioners who 
have reinstated their license since 
the winter 2018 newsletter.

Physical Therapists:
Algee, Robert D.
Shipp, Kelsey Adams
Simmons, Mary Blackledge

Physical Therapist Assistants:
Chisholm, Stephanie T.
Crutcher, Catherine E.
Worth, Patrick T.

Compact Privilege:
As one of the first states to imple-
ment the Compact Privilege for physi-
cal therapy practitioners, the follow-
ing is a list of those who have been 
issued a compact privilege:

Abesamis, Mark     	 CP000137A

Adams, Nicholas E.  	 CP000166T

Black, Brian R.  	 CP000143A

Boland, Kail M.	 CP000067T

Brandon, Jada A. 	 CP000031A

Burch, Adam 	 CP000034A

Coleman, Chandler E.	 CP000065A

Colon, Emily	 CP000118T

Daniels, Jeffrey B.	 CP000179T

Eiken, Kristin A.	 CP000125T

Farhat, Hassan	 CP000087T

Henson, Jimmie D.	 CP000142A

Hogue, Hannah K.	 CP000035T

Jackson, Melissa Ann	 CP000128A

LeNoir, Betty	 CP000025T

MacNeill, Caroline	 CP000149T

Musa, Jan Cupid	 CP000172T

Petersen, Stephanie A.	 CP000102A

Poole, Lisa A.	 CP000097T

Powers, Kelly C.	 CP000061T

Swedenburg, Courtney P.	 CP000059T

Williford, Lora R.	 CP000048T

As it stands at this time, twelve (12) 
states are actively issuing and accept-
ing compact privileges.  Those states 
are: Mississippi, Tennessee, Missouri, 
Utah, Oregon, North Dakota, Texas, 
Iowa, New Hampshire, Kentucky, 
Arizona and Nebraska.

If you are interested in exploring the 
compact privilege and its availabil-
ity to you at this time, the first step 
you should take is to go to the web-
site which is www.ptcompact.org and 
review the information on the com-
pact.  For answers to any questions that 
you have, you may call the Compact 
Commission at (703) 562-8500.

Look what’s available on our website at www.msbpt.ms.gov.  Please visit the website frequently for updated information.

You can find:

att   e n ti  o n

•	� Application packet

•	� Continuing Competence – a list of approved courses

•	� Consumer Awareness and Protection

•	� Current Board members

•	� Dry Needling requirements

•	� How to file a complaint

•	� Information on how to get a course approved

•	� Licensure renewal information

•	� Links to APTA, MPTA, FSBPT and more

•	� List of current disciplinary actions

•	� Name/Address change forms and many more

•	� Practice Act and Rules and Regulations

•	� Scheduled Board meetings

•	� Verification of License – check to see if  
someone is licensed

Renewal Options and Reminders
The Board suggests that you keep the following information in 
mind when renewing your license:

ONLINE RENEWAL IS MANDATORY. THE ONLINE 
APPLICATION SHOULD BE SUBMITTED NO 
EARLIER THAN MAY 1st.

Address Changes:  Have you moved or had a change in 
employment?  Did you notify the Board office in writing 
of the change?  The Board will mail renewal notices approxi-
mately sixty (60) days prior to the end of the licensure period. 
This means the notice will be mailed prior to May 1, 2019 to 
the last home address on file with the Board.  Please notify 
the Board immediately by logging into your online profile and 
making address and employment changes yourself; or, you 
may email, fax, or mail your changes in information.  Refer to 
Part 3103 Rule 1.9 of the regulations. 

Completion of renewal application:  You should verify 
that you have answered every question, including updating 
any changes to your personal and professional addresses and 
telephone numbers and that you have listed all continuing 
competence (CC) courses in aPTitude.  The entire address 
(name, address, city, state, zip and telephone number) for both 
home and employment should be included in completing your 
renewal application. The information requested is pertinent for 
Board use, and your renewal will not be completed until you 
have provided this information. 

Photo Required:  If you do not have a photo in your profile or 
if your photo is older than four (4) years, you will be instructed 
to upload a new photo before the RED renewal button will 
be displayed.  The photo must be an approximate size of 2x2 
inches, head and shoulder only, full face, front view, in color 
on a plain white background, standard photo stock paper. 
Scanned or computer-generated photographs must be printed 
on photo quality paper and must have no visible pixels or dots.  
Photos can be uploaded to the licensee’s profile or the photo 
(in jpeg format) can be emailed to sboyette@msbpt.ms.gov or 
mailed into the Board office.  As an alternative to scanning an 
actual photo, you may have someone take a photo of you with 
your smart phone or make a selfie and upload it from your 
phone to your profile.  Refer to Part 3103 Rule 4.1.3

Photos that will not be accepted include: 1) photo that 
includes anyone besides you; 2) no sunglasses, hat or cap; 3) 
copy of a photograph; 4) driver’s license photo and/or picture 
identification.  

Renewal Fee:  The renewal fee is $150.00 for physical thera-
pists and $125.00 for physical therapist assistants.  Online 
renewal requires payment by a credit card or electronic check.

Continuing Competence:  List all approved CC courses in 
aPTitude.  Then enter the total number of CC hours from 
aPTitude into the Education tab in your profile.  If you are 
selected for CC random audit, you will see a message in red 
that “you have been randomly selected for CC audit” on 
the payment screen.  You will also receive an email notifica-
tion. Since CC documentation is part of the renewal process, 
you will not receive your new seal and identification card until 
you meet the requirements of random audits.  If your certifi-
cates have not been uploaded to aPTitude by June 30, 2019, 
you will be placed on CC probation. All physical therapists 
and physical therapist assistants need to be aware that the 
Board can review anyone’s continuing competence certifi-
cates at any time.

Mandatory CC Compliance: All licensees must record 
and report compliance of continuing competence activities 
through the free online aPTitude program of the FSBPT at 
https://pt.fsbpt.net/aPTitude.  For assistance with your aPTi-
tude account, email aPTittudeHelp@fsbpt.org or by telephone 
at (703) 299-3100, option 5.  Refer to Part 3103 Rule 5.5.

Currently on CC Probation:  Those licensees that are cur-
rently on CC probation will be able to renew online, but the 
renewal process will not be complete until all documenta-
tion related to your CC probationary requirements have been 
received and reviewed through aPTitude. Please note that your 
expiration date will not change until this review has occurred.  
Refer to Part 3103 Rule 5.2(6).

Change of name:  If you are requesting a change of name, a 
copy of a legal document must accompany the name change 
request.  Legal documents consist of a copy of your marriage 
license or divorce decree.

Be on Time:  It is in your best interest to submit the online 
renewal prior to June 30, 2019 to avoid late and reinstatement 
fees. Renewals completed in their entirety should have their 
new identification card and licensure seal before the end of the 
licensure period. All licensees will be able to review their expi-
ration date in their profile, and the new date is immediately 
available for verification. The Board staff cannot guarantee 
that renewals received after June 14, 2019 will be processed 
in time for licensees to receive confirmation of renewal in the 
mail prior to June 30, 2019. 

Verify receipt of renewal:  Upon completion of the online 
renewal payment process, you will have the opportunity to 
print a receipt of payment and proof of renewal having been 
received.  If you do not print the receipt at that time, you can 
go to the payment tab in your profile and print proof of pay-
ment.

Failure to renew before the deadline:  A licensee who 
does not file all requirements for renewal before the end of 
the licensure period will be deemed to have allowed his/her 
license to lapse.  Those individuals whose licenses expire will 
be required to pay the late fee in addition to the renewal fee.  
Failure to submit all renewal requirements by September 30 
shall result in the necessity of the payment of a reinstatement 
fee in addition to the late fee and renewal fee. Refer to Part 
3103 Rule 4.3 of the regulations.  Remember…you may not 
practice as a physical therapist or as a physical therapist assis-
tant until your license has been reinstated.  Practicing with a 
lapsed license could result in disciplinary action by the Board.

SPECIAL REQUEST:  During renewal period, May 1-June 
30, the Board office is extremely busy with processing renew-
als.  At the same time, we have all of the graduating physical 
therapists and physical therapist assistants applying for licen-
sure and meeting deadlines for taking the NPTE.  We are ask-
ing that you PLEASE REFRAIN FROM CALLING THE 
BOARD OFFICE TO VERIFY THAT A CONTINUING 
COMPETENCE COURSE/ACTIVITY IS APPROVED.  
If you need to check the approval of a continuing competence 
course, please go to the Continuing Competence page on the 
website and follow the INSTRUCTIONS that are posted there 
concerning CC APPROVAL. The link you need to select is:  
IMPORTANT NOTICE REGARDING CCU APPROVAL.  
The Board staff thanks you for helping us process renewals 
and graduate applications in a timely manner.

As a physical therapist or physical therapist assistant licensee, it is YOUR 
responsibility to verify that the continuing competence (CC) courses you 
take are courses that meet the requirements of our regulations.  To ensure 
that your courses are approved, please follow the steps listed below:

1.	 �Go to the Continuing Competence page on the website (www.msbpt.
ms.gov) and select the list of approved courses for the appropriate year.  To 
be certain that you are taking courses that are acceptable to the Mississippi 
State Board of Physical Therapy, it is best to select courses that the Board 
has reviewed, approved, and placed on this list. ONLY courses that have 
been submitted to the Mississippi Board for review appear on this list.  
ALWAYS check this list before registering and paying for a course.

2.	 �If a course you would like to take does not appear on our list, you may 
check the regulations that appear at the top of the list and see if the 
course information provided to you by the sponsor lists any of the general 
approvals that we accept, such as courses approved by another state 
chapter of APTA.  However, if there is any doubt in your mind whether 
the course is acceptable, you should follow the instructions in #3.

3.	 �CALL THE SPONSORING ORGANIZATION.  Ask if they have 
submitted the course to Mississippi and received approval.  If they 
respond that the course is approved in Mississippi, ask the sponsor to 
fax or email a copy of the approval letter to you. At this point, you may 
discover that they are relying on the statement in our regulations Part 
3103 Rule 5.4 (1) (b) that says that the Board will accept “Conferences 
and continuing competence activities provided by the American Physical 
Therapy Association (APTA), Mississippi Physical Therapy Association 
(MPTA), and other state chapters and sections of APTA.”  If that is the 
case, the sponsor needs to put in writing, either in a letter or an email, a 
statement indicating approval of the course is “Per Mississippi Regulation 
Part 3103 Rule 5.4 (1) (b) the course will be accepted by the Mississippi 
State Board of Physical Therapy”. They should also provide you with a list 
of any other state Physical Therapy Associations that have approved the 
course.  DO NOT ACCEPT THEIR VERBAL STATEMENT THAT 
THE COURSE IS APPROVED IN MISSISSIPPI!

IMPORTANT NOTICE  
REGARDING CCU APPROVAL

John Rayborn, PT
Rhonda Bush, PTA
Dana Rawls, PTA
Skyla Maples, PTA
Allison McKenzie, PT
Alisa Williams, PTA
Joseph Cooley, Jr, PT
James Blackwell, PTA 
Sarah Douglas, PTA 
Daniel Diers, PT
Lori Landrum, PT
Sara Norval, PT	
Stephen Jernigan, PT
Lisa Weathers, PT
Deborah Domino, PTA 

Douglas Fleming, PT 
Cynthia Jarrett, PT 
Hope Lang, PTA 
Ernesto Paras, Jr., PT 
Laura Selby, PT
Caroline Oakes Strazi, PT
Dontavious Toles, PTA
Kaley D. Carpenter, PTA
Sonya Whitfield, PT
Luis Castro, PT
Kayley R. Carpenter, PTA
Thomas McGraw, PT
Jennifer Pickens, PT 
Natalie Whitehead, PTA

Random Audits
The Board is authorized by state statute to 
enter and make inspections of any place where 
physical therapy is practiced.  Accordingly, the 
Board through its agents continues random 
inspections and audits to determine if licensees 
are in compliance with the Board regulations.  
During 2018 no licensees were cited by the 
Board.

The Board expresses its thanks for the courte-
ous cooperation received by its inspectors at 
the majority of the sites visited.  The Board is 
also pleased that several sites seemed to be in 
full compliance with physical therapy laws and 
regulations.  Keep up the good work.

Random Audits: During 2018 the following 
practitioners were inspected and audited.  The 
Board is happy to announce their compliance. 
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Board Members:      
Cyndi Scott, PT, Chair

SuAnn Poole, PTA, Secretary

Deborah McDonald, PT, Treasurer

Shannon Singletary, PT, Member

Douglas Roll, PT, Member

Gene Barrett, MD, Physician Member

Melanie Woodrick, CPA, Consumer 

Member 

Board Staff:
Stephanie Boyette, Executive Director

Natalie Miller, Licensing Investigator

Beth Holmes, License Registration Agent 

Board Counsel:
Gloria Green, JD, Special Assistant 

Attorney General

MS Board of Physical Therapy
PO Box 55707
Jackson, MS 39296-5707
(601) 352-2918 Telephone
(601) 352-2920 Fax
sboyette@msbpt.ms.gov 
www.msbpt.ms.gov

Let’s see…the Board has been very busy over the past 6 months working on behalf 
of the consumers and physical therapy practitioners in the state.  We’ve completed 
telehealth and dry needling regulations, and they have been submitted to the 
Occupational Licensing Review Committee (OLRC) and the Secretary of State’s 
Office as proposed rules.  We have almost completed updating the regulations to 
streamline and minimize the process of garnering and maintaining licensure in 
the State of Mississippi.  We now have therapists working in our state utilizing 
the Compact Privilege License.  We have continued with the business of investi-
gating and disciplining those practitioners who do not have the best interests of 
our clients and patients at the forefront.  We joined with others to defeat a bill in 
the Mississippi legislative session that would have swept our Board into a shared 
services arrangement with others.  We have embarked on a journey to investigate 
distribution of the PT/PTA workforce in Mississippi and attempt to predict future 
needs.  As you can see, we’ve been active and positive on behalf of the profession 
and its patients.  

The word of the day today is FIDUCIARY.  Is that a new word for you?  Borrowed 
from the banking, finance, and legal field, it simply means that professionals in 
fields with fiduciary responsibility are bound by ethics and law to put the needs 
of the client/patient ahead of their own needs.  Whether or not you want it, as a 
health care professional, you possess fiduciary responsibility.  What might that 
look like for you?  It might mean staying late or coming in early to accommodate 
a scheduling request.  It might mean refraining from up-charging for services 
provided.  It likely means allowing only licensed physical therapy practitioners 
to assist patients with programs.  It might look like many things for you in your 
practice.  The important thing to remember is that as a professional, you are in the 
seat of authority, and our clients are in the vulnerable position.  It is our responsi-
bility to protect that vulnerable patient and ensure that he/she gets the quality and 
outcomes desired.  As physical therapy practitioners, let’s go out there and exercise 
our FIDUCIARY responsibility.

Cyndi K. Scott, PT, PhD, MBA

Word from Board Chair

Mississippi State Board 
of Physical Therapy
Post Office Box 55707
Jackson, MS 39296-5707

Change of Home Address, Worksite or Name
It is the responsibility of licensees to provide the Board with written notification of address changes (home 
and/or work) no later than 30 days after such change is effective according to Part 3103 Rule 1.9.  For a name 
change, a copy of an acceptable legal document must accompany the request. The forms accepted are a copy 
of your marriage certificate or divorce decree. Failure to keep your address or name change current will result 
in a $25.00 fee for the cost of resending any correspondence or materials.

Mail this form to the Mississippi Board of Physical Therapy, P.O. Box 55707, Jackson, MS 39296-5707 or fax to (601) 352-2920.

name	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 license #

FORMER name

FORMER address (City, State, Zip)	 	 	 	 	 County

New address (City, State, Zip)	 	 	 	 	 County

Phone Number	 	 	 Email address

Former Employer:

PRESENT primary employer	 	 address (City, State, Zip)	 	 phone number

(      )

(      )

Reminder – Licensure 
Requirement for 

Mississippi PTs and PTAs
 

The Mississippi Board of Physical Therapy 
(Board)  requires all licensees to report compli-
ance with continuing competence by utilizing the 
free online system  at https://pt.fsbpt.net/aPTitude. 
The  aPTitude  system was built by the Federation of 
State Boards of Physical Therapy (FSBPT) to help PTs 
and PTAs comply with licensure renewal requirements, 
maintain their ongoing competence, and manage their 
activity records. The Mississippi Board has determined 
that  aPTitude  is the appropriate tool for PTs and 
PTAs to record their completed continuing competence 
activities and report that information to the Board for 
the random compliance audit at the time of renewal.

Create your free account in aPTitude and begin record-
ing your completed activities and uploading your cer-
tificates or other completion documentation as soon as 
possible. All that is required to create your account is 
your name, license number, and email address.  If you 
have not registered by the date of your renewal, this 
will result in a delay with processing your licensure 
renewal. 

Here is a list of aPTitude features:

•	� Maintain your licensure information and transcript of 
completed continuing competence courses and other 
activities

•	 Securely store completion certificates

•	� Be reminded of the license renewal and continuing 
competence completion deadline

•	� Track completion progress for all licenses held (in 
addition to Mississippi)

•	� Find qualifying courses – many currently approved 
continuing competence courses for Mississippi are 
in aPTitude

•	� Ability to create and record a course that is not 
listed in aPTitude but that is accepted by MS

For assistance with your aPTitude account, email aPTi-
tudeHelp@fsbpt.org or by telephone at 703.299.3100, 
option 5.  Contact the Board for answers to questions 
on Mississippi’s continuing competence requirements.

Complaints & Disciplinary Actions in 2018  
Complaints received:  23
Physical Therapists – 13
Physical Therapist Assistants – 10
Non-Physical Therapy Practitioners - 1

Disposition of complaints: Closed – no action/violations - 6
Board hearings - 4 	     
Pending investigation - 17
Issued Stipulation and Consent Order - 2
Revocation of license - 0

The Physical Therapist Assistant 
Profession Turns 50

While the American Physical Therapy Association’s (APTA) centen-
nial may be a couple of years away, there’s another cause for celebra-
tion right here, right now: 2019 marks the 50th anniversary of the 
first physical therapist assistant (PTA) graduates.  The celebration 
kicked off at the 2018 House of Delegates in Orlando when the PTA 
Caucus introduced the #PTA10K campaign and continued during 
the 2019 Combined Sections Meeting (CSM) in Washington D.C. 
with a huge party for the PTAs attending CSM.

The PTA is the only other physical therapy provider.  PTAs stand 
side by side with the physical therapists (PT) in the clinic, during 
continuing education programs, and during advocacy events on the 
local, state, and national levels.  The PTA is constantly evolving to 
meet the challenges of our ever-changing healthcare system.  PTAs 
have earned the respect of the PTs with whom they work as well 
as nurses, allied health professionals, and others in the medical 
community.  They are recognized as competent clinicians who are 
well-trained to carry out physical therapy interventions and progress 
patients per the PT plan of care. 

Physical Therapist Assistants are regulated in each state; they are 
required to stay abreast of current and emerging treatment strategies 
through continuing education. 

I look forward to seeing what the next fifty years will bring for the 
profession of physical therapy and the role of the physical therapist 
assistant.  Many challenges are in front of us, and I believe that 
we are poised to face them with the courage and strength that our 
patients exhibit on a daily basis.  Congratulations for achieving 50 
years of success, earned respect, and dignified work.

Here’s to 50 more!

Jeremy Foster, LPTA
Mississippi PTA Caucus Representative
Academy of Acute Care PTA at Large
Academy of Clinical Electrophysiology and Wound Care 
Management PTA at Large

  
  

  

  

Happy Spring!
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Let’s see…the Board has been very busy over the past 6 months working on behalf 
of the consumers and physical therapy practitioners in the state.  We’ve completed 
telehealth and dry needling regulations, and they have been submitted to the 
Occupational Licensing Review Committee (OLRC) and the Secretary of State’s 
Office as proposed rules.  We have almost completed updating the regulations to 
streamline and minimize the process of garnering and maintaining licensure in 
the State of Mississippi.  We now have therapists working in our state utilizing 
the Compact Privilege License.  We have continued with the business of investi-
gating and disciplining those practitioners who do not have the best interests of 
our clients and patients at the forefront.  We joined with others to defeat a bill in 
the Mississippi legislative session that would have swept our Board into a shared 
services arrangement with others.  We have embarked on a journey to investigate 
distribution of the PT/PTA workforce in Mississippi and attempt to predict future 
needs.  As you can see, we’ve been active and positive on behalf of the profession 
and its patients.  

The word of the day today is FIDUCIARY.  Is that a new word for you?  Borrowed 
from the banking, finance, and legal field, it simply means that professionals in 
fields with fiduciary responsibility are bound by ethics and law to put the needs 
of the client/patient ahead of their own needs.  Whether or not you want it, as a 
health care professional, you possess fiduciary responsibility.  What might that 
look like for you?  It might mean staying late or coming in early to accommodate 
a scheduling request.  It might mean refraining from up-charging for services 
provided.  It likely means allowing only licensed physical therapy practitioners 
to assist patients with programs.  It might look like many things for you in your 
practice.  The important thing to remember is that as a professional, you are in the 
seat of authority, and our clients are in the vulnerable position.  It is our responsi-
bility to protect that vulnerable patient and ensure that he/she gets the quality and 
outcomes desired.  As physical therapy practitioners, let’s go out there and exercise 
our FIDUCIARY responsibility.

Cyndi K. Scott, PT, PhD, MBA

Word from Board Chair

Mississippi State Board 
of Physical Therapy
Post Office Box 55707
Jackson, MS 39296-5707

Change of Home Address, Worksite or Name
It is the responsibility of licensees to provide the Board with written notification of address changes (home 
and/or work) no later than 30 days after such change is effective according to Part 3103 Rule 1.9.  For a name 
change, a copy of an acceptable legal document must accompany the request. The forms accepted are a copy 
of your marriage certificate or divorce decree. Failure to keep your address or name change current will result 
in a $25.00 fee for the cost of resending any correspondence or materials.

Mail this form to the Mississippi Board of Physical Therapy, P.O. Box 55707, Jackson, MS 39296-5707 or fax to (601) 352-2920.
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Phone Number	 	 	 Email address

Former Employer:

PRESENT primary employer	 	 address (City, State, Zip)	 	 phone number

(      )

(      )
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option 5.  Contact the Board for answers to questions 
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required to stay abreast of current and emerging treatment strategies 
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