Mississippi Board of Physical Therapy

Today is:

  Board Disciplinary Actions

The Mississippi State Board of Physical Therapy has provided a summary of licenses currently under disciplinary action. This information is a matter of public record. Although the information is believed to be accurate, the Board makes no guarantees. The Mississippi State Board of Physical Therapy disclaims liability for any errors or omissions. Users of this service may contact the Board to assure accuracy. A copy of the Board Order for any disciplinary action, or a written list of all disciplinary actions may be obtained by downloading the public records request form found on the Forms section of this website and submitting said form along with applicable processing fee.

  • Brooks, Brenda H.
  • License number: PT6616
    Violation: Provided false misleading, inaccurate or incomplete information; including criminal conviction and history, on the licensure application.
    Disciplinary action: $500.00 fine and license reprimanded.
    Effective date: 1-15-2019
    Status: ACTIVE-Probationary period ended
  •  
  • Davis, Alex B.
  • License number: PTA5340
    Violation: Filing false reports or falsifying records.
    Disciplinary action: $5100.00 fine. 3 years probation, with the first 3 months being on suspension, and the remaining 9 months of the first year having direct on-site supervision. The remaining 2 years of probation the supervisor must submit quarterly reports to the Board. Quarterly reports must also be submitted from any employer and the licensee attesting to his compliance. An additional 3 hours in Board approved Ethics to the required biennial units for renewal.
    Effective date: 4-27-2017
    Status: ACTIVE-disciplinary probation
  •  
  • Dendy, Karmen Spratlin
  • License number: PTA6027
    Violation: Practicing with an expired license.
    Disciplinary action: License reinstated upon the payment of late renewal application fee. $350.00 fine. Complete 4 hours of Board approved continuing competence in professional ethics and Mississippi physical therapy jurisprudence, in addition to the required 30 CCU's for renewal, and provide proof of completion.
    Effective date: 7-26-2017
    Status: ACTIVE-Probationary period ended
  •  
  • Flowers, Abrian N.
  • License number: PT4308
    Violation: Failure to adhere to the recognized standards of ethics of the physical therapy profession as established by the rules of the Board. Engaging in any conduct considered by the Board to be detrimental to the profession of physical therapy. *******REVISION******* Failure to abide by the probation conditions that were voluntarily agreed to in a Stipulation and Consent Order. Failure to not engage in the use of any controlled addictive substances. During a random drug testing a positive result for marijuana metabolites was obtained. Failure to maintain a number where the Board designee could reach him prevented the Board from monitoring the conditions for sobriety and missing a required drug test. Failure to arrange for the drug testing facility to send the results to the Board within the time prescribed, and authorizing the Board or its designee to receive the results of all drug tests. Failure to provide his employer with a copy of the Stipulation and Consent Order. Failure to notify the Board of any change in work status.
    Disciplinary action: Monetary penalty of $500.00 per violation. Unannounced drug testing for a minimum of four times over a one-year period. Probation period of 5 years. *******REVISION******* Revocation of license
    Effective date: 10-24-2014
    Status: REVOKED-
  •  
  • Hughes, Jr., Calvin A.
  • License number: PTA4330
    Violation: Conduct considered to be detrimental to the physical therapy profession, and failure to comply with applicable local, state, and federal laws and regulations.
    Disciplinary action: Monetary penalty and costs of $650.00, quarterly, random witnessed drug screens for (1) one year.
    Effective date: 10-21-2016
    Status: ACTIVE-Probationary period ended
  •  
  • Jackson-Aragon, Teneshia Sherise
  • License number: PT6795
    Violation: Convicted of a felony.
    Disciplinary action: Shall remain on probation until all requirements of the Judgment in a criminal case imposed by the U.S. District Court in Alabama have been met, and is released and discharged. Must be compliant with all conditions and requirements of the Supervised Release imposed by the U.S. District Court in Alabama. Quarterly reports of compliance by the U.S. probation officer sent to the Board. Within 12 months from the date of the Board Order 15 hours of continuing competence must be obtained, with remaining 15 hours being completed by June 30, 2021.
    Effective date: 9-17-2019
    Status: ACTIVE-disciplinary probation
  •  
  • Mixon, Amber D.
  • License number: PTA3016
    Violation: Engaged in dishonorable, unethical, or unprofessional conduct likely to harm the public in the course of professional services; continued to practice although licensee had become unfit to practice as a physical therapist assistant due to addiction or severe dependency upon alcohol or other drugs which may endanger the public by impairing the licensee's ability to practice; engaged in conduct that the Board considers detrimental to the physical therapy profession; and failed to comply with applicable local, state, and federal laws and regulations.
    Disciplinary action: Suspension of license for 180 days from the date the Board executes the Order; during which time the licensee must comply with conditions of: $1500.00 fine; be evaluated for chemical dependency with the evaluation being submitted to the Board within 90 days. If found to be chemically dependent licensee must follow treatment recommendations and aftercare program as specified by the entity, with monthly progress reports and a final assessment letter submitted to the Board. Must successfully complete an additional APTA Standard of Ethical Conduct course in addition to the required amount for renewal. After the conditions of suspension are met, the licensee's license may be reinstated subject to probationary conditions for a minimum of 24 months. A minimum of 1 periodic unannounced blood or urine drug screen per month. An additional unannounced urine, blood, or hair specimen on demand. Supply any employer a copy of the Order within 14 days of employ and file quarterly self compliance reports to the Board. The time periods that licensee does not practice will not count towards her probation period. The conditions of the Order must be completed no later than 32 months after the Order is executed by the Board.
    Effective date: 2-17-2019
    Status: ACTIVE-Probationary period ended
  •  
  • Moss, Brandon G.
  • License number: PTA5581
    Violation: Engaged in unprofessional conduct by drug addiction and failed to demonstrate sustained sobriety.
    Disciplinary action: License suspended from the date the Order becomes effective. $4225.00 fine and costs. Must give access to all records including but not limited to medical, employment, and criminal. Have an evaluation for chemical dependence/substance abuse, a psychiatric/psychological evaluation, and a fitness for duty assessment with reports of diagnosis, prognosis, and recommendation for treatments sent to the Board. *****REVISION***** License revoked. An additional $908.50 monetary penalty and costs assessed for non-compliance with the Final Order.
    Effective date: 1-31-2019
    Status: REVOKED-disciplinary/monetary penalty
  •  
  • Murphy, Madeline C.
  • License number: PTA5468
    Violation: Filing false reports or falsifying records and submitting false claims.
    Disciplinary action: $500.00 fine, and provide to the Board satisfactory proof or documentation showing successful completion of (8) eight hours of continuing education in physical therapy ethics required by the Tennessee Consent Order.
    Effective date: 1-19-2017
    Status: ACTIVE-disciplinary/monetary penalty
  •  
  • Nickens, Terrence D.
  • License number: PT3573
    Violation:
    Disciplinary action: Closed. Remand Order. ***REVISION*** Remand Order
    Effective date: 4-19-2018
    Status: License EXPIRED -cc probation
  •  
  • Sellers, John D.
  • License number: PT1994
    Violation: Negligence in the practice or performance of professional services; dishonorable, unethical or unprofessional conduct of a character likely to deceive, defraud or harm the public; lewd conduct in connection with professional services or activities; failure to respect the inherent dignity and rights of all individuals; failure to adhere to the core values of the profession and act in the best interests of patient(s)/client(s) over the interests of the physical therapist; engaged in conflict of interests that interfered with professional judgment and did not make sound judgments; exploited patient(s)/client(s); engaged in a sexual relationship with a patient(s)/client(s); did not demonstrate integrity in his relationship(s) with patient(s)/client(s); and did not promote organizational behaviors and business practices that benefited patient(s)/client(s).
    Disciplinary action: License revoked until 10 years from and after the Board signs the Order, licensure certificate and license identification card returned to the Board, and pay associated costs of $725.00.
    Effective date: 8-30-2017
    Status: REVOKED-Probationary period ended
  •  
  • Sims, Stephen L.
  • License number: PT4462
    Violation: Falsifying patient records and fraudulent billing.
    Disciplinary action: Probation for two (2) years. Fine and costs of $2500.00. Four (4) hours of continuing education courses in professional ethics must be successfully completed each year of probation, in addition to the licensure renewal requirements. Must provide any person or entity where employed with a copy of the Stipulation and Consent Order.
    Effective date: 12-15-2014
    Status: ACTIVE-Probationary period ended
  •  
  • Smith, Lindsey Erin
  • License number: PTA3760
    Violation: Convicted of a felony of the courts within the State of Mississippi.
    Disciplinary action: $5000.00 fine. 3 months suspension of license; then 5 years of probation. During the suspension period, must complete 5 hours of Board approved ethics in addition to the required hours for renewal. Must undergo a chemical dependency evaluation by a Board approved professional or agency; and have assessor submit a monthly written report to the Board. Quarterly random drug testing. Must report to the Board any prescriptions within 24 hours, and have the physician send a copy of the prescription to the Board office within 5 working days. All employers must receive a copy of the Board Order and submit quarterly written reports to the Board of her day-to-day job performance. *****REVISION***** License revoked until at least five (5) years after the date the Final Order is signed by the Board, for failure to comply with the Stipulation and Consent Order.
    Effective date: 1-31-2019
    Status: REVOKED-
  •  
  • Townsend, Alyssa M.
  • License number: PTA4566
    Violation: Refused to submit to a for cause drug test for employer.
    Disciplinary action: Fine and costs of $766.00. Probation of license for 1 year. Complete 3 additional continuing competence hours in professional ethics. Have 1 unannounced blood or urine drug screen per month, in addition to periodic unannounced urine, blood, or hair specimens on demand. All employers must receive a copy of the Board Order. Quarterly reports of licensee's compliance must be made to the Board. Probation time will not be credited for times that the licensee doesn't practice. All requirements of the Final Order must be met within 18 months from the date that the Order becomes effective.
    Effective date: 1-31-2019
    Status: ACTIVE-disciplinary probation
  •  
  • Van Heel, Douglas R.
  • License number: PT3713
    Violation: Negligence in the practice or performance of professional service; unethical, or professional conduct; performance of unacceptable services; failing to maintain adequate patient records; conduct considered by the Board to be detrimental to the profession of physical therapy; not acting in the best interests of the patient/client; not providing physical therapy services with compassionate and caring behaviors; not communicating or collaborating with peers or other health care professionals; not providing truthful, accurate and relevant information in the patient's medical records; and failing to communicate, coordinate, and document all aspects of patient/client management; and violations of the laws, rules and regulations governing the practice of physical therapy.
    Disciplinary action: Probation of license until June 30, 2018, fine and costs of $8200.00, 3 hours of continuing competence in professional ethics and time management in addition to the required hours for renewal, 6 months of supervised physical therapy practice, copy of Board Order supplied to any and all employers, monthly reports from the supervising physical therapist, and quarterly reports from employer(s) and self on compliance.
    Effective date: 9-19-2016
    Status: ACTIVE-Probationary period ended
  •  
  • Vinson, Michael Barilea
  • License number: PT5361
    Violation: Failure to maintain accurate or adequate records.
    Disciplinary action: Reprimanded. Fined $1500.00 monetary penalty. License may be reinstated in a probationary status for sixty (60) days, beginning when licensee practices in Mississippi. The times that the licensee does not practice or provide physical therapy in Mississippi will not be credited toward any period of probationary time. Two (2) hours additional continuing education in a Board approved Ethics course. Any entity that employs the licensee in Mississippi shall send a notarized statement to the Board verifying their receipt of a copy of the Stipulation and Consent Order, fourteen (14) days prior to starting employment. Must keep the Board apprised at all times in writing of any change in address, phone, professional status, or employment.
    Effective date: 9-17-2015
    Status: License EXPIRED -disciplinary probation
  •  
  • Webb, Janet L.
  • License number: PT1726
    Violation: Falsifying documents.
    Disciplinary action: $4450.00 fine, 2 years probation, with the first 6 months being monitored and supervised with Board prior approval of a licensed physical therapist in good standing with the Board. Monthly reports to the Board by the supervising physical therapist, quarterly reports by the licensee to the Board. An additional 6 hours in Board approved professional ethics, and successful completion of the APTA Medicare and Integrity in Practice. *****REVISION**** Within 90 calendar days from date the Order is signed by the Board, licensee must a report sent to the Board from a mental health treatment professional stating fitness to practice physical therapy and indicating whether treatment is necessary. Any recommendations must be promptly done. After requirements are met in the 90 days, license may be reinstated, with license being on probation for 2 years with the first 6 months being supervised. Supervisor to submit quarterly reports. Licensee must submit quarterly complaince reports $4616.00 monetary penalty. Course in Integrity in Practice and 6 additional hours in professional ethics.
    Effective date: 10-19-2017
    Status: License EXPIRED -disciplinary probation
  •  
  • Wesley, Sr., Nehemiah M.
  • License number: PT3985
    Violation: Failure to complete the required continuing competence hours needed for renewal, being placed on continuing competence probation for one licensure period; then failing to provide evidence or documentation verifying the continuing competence courses when attempting renewal of license for the following license renewal period.
    Disciplinary action: Application for renewal of physical therapy license is denied and the license to practice as a physical therapist in the State of Mississippi is suspended until further order of the Board.
    Effective date: 4-27-2017
    Status: License EXPIRED -disciplinary probation
  •  
  • Yates, Brittany Whittington
  • License number: 5664
    Violation: Falsifying documentation.
    Disciplinary action: $3000.00 fine. 2 years probation. Quarterly reports must be submitted from each employer of her day-to-day job performance. Quarterly reports attesting to her self compliance. 6 additional hours in professional ethics beside the biennial amount required for renewal.
    Effective date: 9-16-2018
    Status: ACTIVE-disciplinary probation
  •  
  •